Wasted moments

01Aug10

A Sunday Starter by ND

I’m not a runner but I run everywere! I run to get ready. I run for the bus. I run to catch up with friends/ family. I run to church. I am constantly running to fit as much stuff in to my day as I possibly can. Now that’s not to say I don’t like this style of running, I absolutely thrive on it but what I’ve found is that this kind of ‘multi-tasking’ takes a toll on your life every now and then.

I caught up with a friend the other day for a lunch date. It was lovely to see her and her beautiful daughter but what I found was that I was physically there but my mind wasn’t.  I was constantly looking at my watch to make sure I didn’t exceed my 1 hour lunch break, I was checking for ‘parking attendees’ coming down the street as my car was parked on the street, and trying to hurry the café service up so that I could get some food before I had to go back to work. I was everywhere but with my friend. Hence, I didn’t remember much of our conversations and by the time I got back to work, I felt terrible.  To the point that I texted her and apologises for me ‘not being present at our lunch date’. To which she replied ‘oh that’s OK I haven’t been present for years’.  I had a little chuckle but it saddened me as well.

This often begs me to ask people, how do you do life?

Or how did Jesus do life?  As I peruse through the bible He was always in high demand; so how did He find time for people? To make them feel they weren’t a burden or that there wasn’t anywhere else He’d rather be than right there with them. There was nothing more important to Him than to focus on what was happening inside that person at that very point in time, their struggles, their joys, their daily lives. His presence and sharing in the moment with them was His number one priority.

I love the story of Zacchaeus because it highlights for me how important taking a moment for someone can change their day, if not their life. Jesus was travelling through Jericho for the last time on His way to Jerusalem where He knew He would soon die. He had just spoken to the disciples about how He would be treated so there was a heap going on in His head. As Jesus was walking with a big crowd around Him, He stoped under the tree where Zacchaeus was perched trying to see over the people, and said to him, “Zacchaeus, get your butt out of that tree fast, I’ve just got to hang at your place today! (My creative licence of the translation!) Zacchaeus’ response is just wonderful; “Zacchaeus quickly climbed down and took Jesus to his house in great excitement and joy.”

Jesus stopped, took a moment in time out of the game plan of saving the world, and created some joy in the life of someone who was in need of friendship. (If you want to check out the story of Zacchaeus, it’s in Luke 19:1 – 9).

So that I don’t waste any more of these special moments,  I will try and make a conscious choice to be present in the lucky and privileged time I get to spend with the people in my life.



No Responses Yet to “Wasted moments”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment